#cyberfraud | #cybercriminals | Netflix email scam tells victims to ‘update your payment information’, news update


If you receive an email from Netflix telling you to update your payment information immediately, you could be the victim of sophisticated new scam.

The streaming giant has once again been embroiled in a phishing email scam, which uses the same branding and username seen with official Netflix correspondence.

Victims are told they are required to update their payment information to continue using the service.

“We recommend that you update your payment information immediately to secure your account otherwise you will not be able to use our services,” the email reads.

An example of the email scam. Picture: MailGuard (Supplied)

A link is provided for users to change their payment details, which takes unsuspecting victims to a Netflix branded log-in page when clicked.

Users are prompted to login using their account credentials – doing so takes them to another phishing page asking for their credit card details.

If the victim enters their credit card information, cyber criminals will harvest their confidential payment data alongside their Netflix login information.

“Cybercriminals have taken great pains to incorporate the exact colour scheme, logo, fonts and popular images commonly found in Netflix pages in a bid to convince the user that the email is actually originating from the entertainment company,” explained email security company MailGuard.

“The inclusion of the threat in the email that the recipients won’t be able to use Netflix’s services if they don’t update their payment information is also a trick designed to spark panic and urgency.”

The fake login page looks almost indistinguishable from the real site. (Supplied)

While painstaking effort has gone into mimicking the brand, the email contains several red flags such as grammar and spacing errors which would likely not be present in an official email from Netflix.  

How to protect yourself (Supplied)
How to spot a scam (Supplied)

Anyone who receives the email should delete it immediately. If you are concerned your account might be locked, head to the official Netflix site and check your details in the settings. 





Source link

Leave a Reply