Cybersecurity Score — European Cybersecurity Certification Scheme For Cloud Services (EUCS) | #hacking | #cybersecurity | #infosec | #comptia | #pentest | #ransomware

Bill Summary

European Cybersecurity Certification Scheme For Cloud Services (EUCS). Establishes cybersecurity requirements for secure and interoperable cloud services within the European Union (EU)

Latest draft updated March 22, 2024, with possible adoption by European Cybersecurity Certification Group on April 15, 2024 

Cybersecurity Score Rating

Rating: Neutral cyber rating. This bill has potential to improve the safety and security of cloud service providers but risks limiting non-EU-based companies from operating successfully in Europe. (Last updated: April 4, 2024)

Key Provisions

  • Aims to enhance and streamline cloud services cybersecurity guarantees across four levels of assurance (basic, substantial, high, high+) and across all kinds of cloud services (Infrastructure as a Service, Platform as a Service, and Software as a Service, among others) across the EU
  • Serves as a technical tool designed to assist customers make informed decisions through the establishment of cybersecurity best practices for cloud service providers (CSPs) to protect data and services hosted in the cloud 
  • Requires CSPs to undergo a certification process resulting in a three-year renewable certification; adherence requires periodic audits
  • Provides EU customers with a holistic view of risk of prospective CSPs; CSPs seeking the highest certification level will file an “International Company Profile Attestation” (ICPA) to indicate which jurisdiction(s) they are subject to, which will then be communicated to customers
  • Allows EU member states to include sovereignty requirements in the attestation, which could be incorporated into contractual agreements without impacting certification


The EU’s Cybersecurity Act established a voluntary cybersecurity certification framework for products and services. The law tasked the EU Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA) with developing EU-wide voluntary cybersecurity certification schemes to regulate CSPs (among others, such as 5G technology and artificial intelligence) and to harmonize the security and interoperability of cloud services with EU regulations, international standards, and industry best practices. Of the three certificate schemes proposed, only one (on baseline information and communication technology products) has been approved to date.

The certification scheme is broken down into four levels of assurance—basic, substantial, high, and high+—each determined by the level of risk associated with the intended use of the cloud service plus five other factors: suitability, attacker profile, scope, depth, and rigor. Basic level is a minimum acceptable baseline for cloud cybersecurity; substantial level includes more enhanced security measures; high level is designed for cloud services that handle highly sensitive data or critical operations; and high+ level requires the most stringent security controls and requirements. 

Initial drafts of the EUCS included sovereignty requirements compelling CSPs to localize their cloud services by headquartering in the EU, to store European data within the EU, and to only allow organizations with “high+” certification to access that data. This development stemmed from a concern over potential U.S. surveillance and law enforcement access to cloud data, and it would have excluded non-EU CSPs from providing services to EU cloud customers. With immense pushback from some EU member states, overseas and European industry groups, lobbyists, technology companies, and analysts, subsequent updated drafts amended this requirement so that only CSPs seeking a “high+” assurance level are required localize their data, with the possibility of allowing “trusted foreign cloud providers” to be certified. 

Though stakeholders were still dissatisfied, ongoing negotiations finally led to the removal of sovereignty requirements (replaced by attestation for CSPs seeking a “high” level of certification) in the latest draft, dated March 22, 2024. The attestation will be verified and validated by the Conformity Assessment Body (CAB). Sovereignty requirements may still be applied by individual EU member states but will not impact the certification process. The next expert group meeting is scheduled for April 15, when the European Cybersecurity Certification Group will likely agree to the text and proceed toward implementation.

Rating: Neutral cyber rating 

Key Takeaways

  • The certification scheme is given a neutral rating due to the highly politicized nature of the debate over sovereignty. This three-year deadlock detracted from answering questions about the cybersecurity requirements themselves, scheme implementation, and standards harmonization across the EU, all of which may have attendant effects on the region’s cybersecurity and resilience.
  • While technically voluntary, Europe’s Network and Information Security (NIS2) Directive requires that cloud customers only utilize cloud services certified by the EUCS. Potential private-sector customers may also require EUCS certification as a procurement requirement, thereby making the certification mandatory to conduct business.
  • CSP attestation of applicable jurisdictions could promote transparency and allow cloud services customers the potential to conduct a more holistic risk assessment, but it highlights a trust disparity between EU member states and the United States regarding potential extraterritorial access to data. Other agreements like the Budapest Convention’s Second Additional Protocol, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s Declaration on Government Access to Personal Data Held by Private Sector Entities, and the United States’ Clarifying Lawful Overseas Use of Data (CLOUD) Act will hopefully provide further clarity in this realm. 


Click Here For The Original Source.

National Cyber Security