District of South Carolina | Over 29,000 South Carolina Students to Participate in State’s 22nd Annual National Day of Concern & Student Pledge Against Gun Violence | #schoolsaftey

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA —- United States Attorney, Adair F. Boroughs, stated that tomorrow, Wednesday, October 18, 2023, the United States Attorney’s Office (USAO), along with their local, state, and federal law enforcement partners, will support schools across the state as they participate in South Carolina’s 22nd Annual Student Pledge Against Gun Violence.  With a focus on keeping our schools and communities safe, students in middle school and high school are signing a voluntary pledge promising that they will never take a gun to school, will never resolve a dispute with a gun, and will use their influence to prevent friends from using guns to resolve disputes. Elementary school children are making a similar commitment—pledging that if they see a gun, they will not touch it, they will tell a teacher or a trusted adult, and they will assume that any gun they see might be loaded.

The Student Pledge Against Gun Violence is a national program that recognizes the role young people, through their own decisions, can play in reducing gun violence. The program provides a means for beginning the conversation with young people about gun violence and encourages important conversations about gun safety and respectful ways to resolve disputes. Students from around the country will join together in pledging to do their part. For additional information concerning the pledge, visit the national Student Pledge website at

As it has done since 2002, the USAO reached out to all South Carolina law enforcement agencies and schools to make the pledges available to interested schools. The pledge effort is part of Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN), a national program that has been historically successful in bringing together law enforcement agencies and the communities they serve to reduce violent crime and make our neighborhoods safer for everyone.

The following South Carolina schools and law enforcement agencies are participating in this year’s pledge.  For information on events scheduled for a particular school, please contact the respective school or local law enforcement agency.


Participating Law Enforcement Agencies

Allendale Sheriff’s Department

Beaufort County Sheriff’s Department

Cayce Police Department

Central Police Department

Charleston County Sheriff’s Office

Chester County Sheriff’s Office

Chesterfield County Sheriff’s Office

City of York Police Department

Columbia Police Department

Dorchester County Sheriff’s Office

Easley Police Department

Fairfield County Sheriff’s Office

First Circuit Solicitor’s Office

Georgetown Police Department

Greenville Police Department

Greenwood County Sheriff’s Office

Hampton County Sheriff’s Department

Landrum Police Department

Lexington County Sheriff’s Department

Marion County Sheriff’s Office

Myrtle Beach Police Department

North Myrtle Beach Police Department

Orangeburg County Sheriff’s Department

Richland County Sheriff’s Department

St. George Police Department 

Sumter County Sheriff’s Office

Town of Lexington Police Department

West Columbia Police Department

Participating Schools


Alcorn Middle School

Allendale-Fairfax High School

American Leadership Academy

Barnwell High School

Battery Creek High School

Beech Hill Elementary School

Bonds MSAP

Brookdale Elementary School

Brookland Cayce High School

C. A. Johnson High School

Cayce Elementary School

Central Academy of the Arts

Cheraw Intermediate School

Chester Senior High School

Chester Middle School

Chester Park Elementary Inquiry

Chester Park Elementary Colt

Chester Park Elementary Arts

Chester County Career Center

Chicora Elementary School

Creek Bridge Stem Academy

Denmark-Olar Elementary School

Donaldson MSAP

Eau Claire High School

Ebenezer Middle School

Edwards Elementary School

Fairfield Magnet School for Math and Science

Fairfield Middle School

Forest Heights Elementary School

Forest Lake Elementary NASA Explorer School

Georgetown Middle School

Greg Mathis Charter High School

Great Falls High School

Great Falls Elementary School

H. B. Rhame Elementary School

Hammond Hill Elementary School

Hampton County High School

Hand Middle School

Heyward Gibbes Middle School

High Hills Elementary School

Jefferson Elementary School

Lewisville High School

Lewisville Middle School

Lewisville Elementary School

Lexington Elementary School

Lexington High School

Logan Elementary School

McBee Elementary School

McBee High School

McCrorey-Liston School of Technology

McKissick Academy of Science and Technology

Marion High School

Memminger Elementary School

Midlands Technical College

Myrtle Beach Middle School

New Prospect Elementary School

Ocean Drive Elementary School

Pageland Elementary School

Pendergrass Fairwold High School

Plainview Elementary School

Ridge View High School

Ruby Elementary School

Sandlapper Elementary School

Septima P. Clarke Academy

St. George Middle School 

St. John’s High School

Sterling Academy

Swansea Freshman Academy

The Learning Center Elementary School

The Learning Center Middle School

Turning Point Academy

W. A. Perry Middle School

W. G. Sanders Middle School

Ware Shoals Middle School

Whittaker Elementary School


Source link


Click Here For The Original Source.

National Cyber Security