Education Notebook: Indiana Tech’s cybersecurity team celebrates regional title | Schools | #hacking | #cybersecurity | #infosec | #comptia | #pentest | #ransomware

Indiana Tech’s cyber defense team is heading to nationals.

The Cyber Warriors this month won their fourth Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition Midwest Regional championship, besting such rivals as DePaul University, according to a news release.

With this victory, Indiana Tech not only advances to next month’s national competition in San Antonio, but the university will also finish the season as one of the top 10 cybersecurity teams nationwide, the release said.

Last year’s top three teams were Stanford University, California Polytechnic State University Pomona and DePaul, according to the competition’s website.

The cybersecurity teams work to combat attempted network security breaches and related challenges testing their problem-solving, technical abilities and teamwork, the release said.

Indiana Tech’s team has won 17 state championships, including 10 straight, the release said. The group last made it to nationals in 2018.

Team members are Peter Allison, Garrett Bates, Riley Boroff, Timothy Bukowski, Nick Caulk, Hunter Clements, Zach Hampton, Hayden LaFlech, Tristan Lybarger, Jeremy MacRoberts, Bryce Murphy, Myles Nieman, Martin Quintana, Sam Regelbrugge and John Rudolph.

They are coached by Matt Hansen, an Indiana Tech graduate who was a championship-winning Cyber Warrior during his time as a student, the release said.

Team members’ successes go beyond competitions. For five years, the university said, each one has secured a job in his or her career field before graduation.

Indiana Tech has also established a national reputation as a producer of top cybersecurity talent, the release said. It added the university was recently recognized as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security.


Defiance College kicked off its 175th anniversary celebration with an event Friday. The Ohio institution – which was founded March 23, 1850 – will host various events as the official anniversary next year approaches.


The Fort Wayne Community Schools board March 11 appointed Rohli Booker, board vice president, to the city of Fort Wayne Redevelopment Commission as a nonvoting member. She will serve a two-year term.


The Indiana Commission for Higher Education awarded $5 million to 25 approved intermediaries to increase their capacity to strengthen connections between students and schools with employers and post-secondary institutions. Recipients included Adams Wells Manufacturing Alliance, J. Kruse Education Center, Junior Achievement of Northern Indiana and Region 8 Education Service Center of Northeast Indiana. They must use the one-time funding to expand access to one or more of the following programs created by House Enrolled Act 1002-2023: career scholarship accounts, career discovery meetings, and career coaching and navigation. The grant runs through June 30, 2025.


Longtime Huntington businessman J.T. Brennan designated an undisclosed amount of money in his will to support Huntington University’s business department. The dollars are being used to establish the Forester Acorn Fund, which will give students a real-world opportunity to invest and manage funds in the stock market.

Indiana Tech

Richard Worshman of Janus Motorcycles will speak at Indiana Tech on April 5 as part of the university’s Ambassador Enterprises Leadership Series. The free event starts at 8 a.m. in the Snyder Academic Center Multi-Flex Theater on campus, 1600 E. Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne.

Visit for information.

Indiana Tech’s STEAM Academy offers summer camps and after-school programs in an environment that cultivates students’ curiosity in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics along with preparing them for college, career and life. Go to for information about summer camps and after-school programming or contact Caleb Hunter, academic camp director, at [email protected].


W. Thomas Smith, dean of health sciences and pharmacy at Manchester University Fort Wayne, was inducted into the 2024 Hall of Fame at his alma mater, Saint Louis University School of Law, last month. Induction into the Order of the Fleur de Lis Hall of Fame is the highest honor from Saint Louis University School of Law. Members are chosen based on professional successes and significant contributions to the community.


Purdue University Fort Wayne senior Bridget Bane was among 33 college-age women selected for the 500 Festival Princess Program. She will participate in activities throughout May leading up to the Indianapolis 500 on May 26 and beyond.

Twenty Purdue Fort Wayne students, staff and faculty representing the Black Student Union traveled to Nashville, Tennessee, in February as part of the union’s second annual cultural trip. They visited the National Museum of African American Music, the Tennessee State Museum and Tennessee State University, one of the country’s 101 historically Black colleges and universities.


Embassy Theatre is offering a free experience to students – a two-evening opportunity in late April to talk with and see a performance by Broadway star Caissie Levy. It is open to high school juniors and seniors along with college freshmen and sophomores interested in pursuing musical theater professionally or who volunteer in community theater. Applications are due by 5 p.m. April 9.

Visit to apply or contact [email protected] for information.


High school seniors have until 11:59 p.m. April 19 to apply for the Exceptional Youth Scholarship offered by the Foundation for Global Sports Development. Ten students will each be awarded a one-time $10,000 scholarship to be applied toward the cost of attending an accredited four-year university or college in the United States.

Visit for information.


The Trine University Board of Trustees approved the promotion of 11 faculty members. Nine assistant professors were promoted to associate professor: Thomas Almonroeder, Tyann Billman, Nicole Edmonds, Anna Glowinski, Brian Lapp, Angelia Niederhelman, Jodi Sandvik, Alison Todd and Sarah Zimmer. Angela Bojrab and John Patton were promoted to full professor, from associate professor.

Trine will host its 55th annual International Night celebration from 5 to 9 p.m. April 6 in the MTI Center on the Angola campus. The theme is “Around the World in a Night.” The free event is open to the public.


Click Here For The Original Source.

National Cyber Security