Arabic Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Dutch Dutch English English French French German German Italian Italian Portuguese Portuguese Russian Russian Spanish Spanish
| (844) 627-8267

FTC Actions Highlight Focus On Cos.’ Cybersecurity Efficacy | #hacking | #cybersecurity | #infosec | #comptia | #pentest | #ransomware


January 5, 2023

On Dec. 14, the Federal Trade Commission hosted an open meeting featuring a staff presentation on cybersecurity.

Alex Gaynor, the FTC’s deputy chief technology officer, discussed the implications of the FTC’s approach to data security enforcement over the past year, specifically highlighting four security best practices.

He noted that the FTC’s latest orders signaled an important new focus on addressing flaws in the nuts and bolts of companies’ cyber programs that leave user and employee data vulnerable in an increasingly digital economy.

The presentation gives important context by reviewing the FTC’s enforcement actions over the course of 2022 and in light of broader federal government trendlines as stipulated in President Joe Biden’s Executive Order No. 14028 on improving the nation’s cybersecurity.

This review indicates the FTC is exerting heightened focus on assessing certain technical security safeguards, the absence of which can create exploitable gaps that undermine appropriate management of data.

The FTC’s emphasis on certain core technical measures is instructive for all companies, regardless of size or industry, in order to minimize cyber risk and regulatory scrutiny.

Read More

Originally published by Law360, © Portfolio Media Inc., January 4, 2023. Reprinted with permission.


Gibson Dunn lawyers are available to assist in addressing any questions you may have about these developments. Please contact the Gibson Dunn lawyer with whom you usually work, the authors, or any member of the firm’s Privacy, Cybersecurity & Data Innovation practice group:

Stephenie Gosnell Handler – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8510, shandler@gibsondunn.com)

Svetlana S. Gans – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8657, sgans@gibsondunn.com)

Kunal Kanodia – San Francisco (+1 415-393-8207, kkanodia@gibsondunn.com)

Apratim Vidyarthi, a recent law graduate in New York not admitted to practice law, also contributed to this article.

Please also feel free to contact the following leaders and members of the firm’s Data Privacy, Cybersecurity and Data Innovation Group:

United States
Matthew Benjamin – New York (+1 212-351-4079, mbenjamin@gibsondunn.com)
Ryan T. Bergsieker – Denver (+1 303-298-5774, rbergsieker@gibsondunn.com)
S. Ashlie Beringer – Co-Chair, PCDI Practice, Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5327, aberinger@gibsondunn.com)
David P. Burns – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-887-3786, dburns@gibsondunn.com)
Gustav W. Eyler – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8610, geyler@gibsondunn.com)
Cassandra L. Gaedt-Sheckter – Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5203, cgaedt-sheckter@gibsondunn.com)
Svetlana S. Gans – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8657, sgans@gibsondunn.com)
Lauren R. Goldman– New York (+1 212-351-2375, lgoldman@gibsondunn.com)
Stephenie Gosnell Handler – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8510, shandler@gibsondunn.com)
Nicola T. Hanna – Los Angeles (+1 213-229-7269, nhanna@gibsondunn.com)
Howard S. Hogan – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-887-3640, hhogan@gibsondunn.com)
Robert K. Hur – Washington, D.C. (+1 202-887-3674, rhur@gibsondunn.com)
Kristin A. Linsley – San Francisco (+1 415-393-8395, klinsley@gibsondunn.com)
H. Mark Lyon – Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5307, mlyon@gibsondunn.com)
Vivek Mohan – Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5345, vmohan@gibsondunn.com)
Karl G. Nelson – Dallas (+1 214-698-3203, knelson@gibsondunn.com)
Rosemarie T. Ring – San Francisco (+1 415-393-8247, rring@gibsondunn.com)
Ashley Rogers – Dallas (+1 214-698-3316, arogers@gibsondunn.com)
Alexander H. Southwell – Co-Chair, PCDI Practice, New York (+1 212-351-3981, asouthwell@gibsondunn.com)
Deborah L. Stein – Los Angeles (+1 213-229-7164, dstein@gibsondunn.com)
Eric D. Vandevelde – Los Angeles (+1 213-229-7186, evandevelde@gibsondunn.com)
Benjamin B. Wagner – Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5395, bwagner@gibsondunn.com)
Michael Li-Ming Wong – San Francisco/Palo Alto (+1 415-393-8333/+1 650-849-5393, mwong@gibsondunn.com)
Debra Wong Yang – Los Angeles (+1 213-229-7472, dwongyang@gibsondunn.com)

Europe
Ahmed Baladi – Co-Chair, PCDI Practice, Paris (+33 (0) 1 56 43 13 00, abaladi@gibsondunn.com)
James A. Cox – London (+44 (0) 20 7071 4250, jacox@gibsondunn.com)
Patrick Doris – London (+44 (0) 20 7071 4276, pdoris@gibsondunn.com)
Kai Gesing – Munich (+49 89 189 33-180, kgesing@gibsondunn.com)
Bernard Grinspan – Paris (+33 (0) 1 56 43 13 00, bgrinspan@gibsondunn.com)
Joel Harrison – London (+44(0) 20 7071 4289, jharrison@gibsondunn.com)
Vera Lukic – Paris (+33 (0) 1 56 43 13 00, vlukic@gibsondunn.com)
Penny Madden – London (+44 (0) 20 7071 4226, pmadden@gibsondunn.com)
Michael Walther – Munich (+49 89 189 33-180, mwalther@gibsondunn.com)

Asia
Kelly Austin – Hong Kong (+852 2214 3788, kaustin@gibsondunn.com)
Connell O’Neill – Hong Kong (+852 2214 3812, coneill@gibsondunn.com)
Jai S. Pathak – Singapore (+65 6507 3683, jpathak@gibsondunn.com)

——————————————————-


Click Here For The Original Source.










National Cyber Security

FREE
VIEW