Safe Kids Grand Forks coordinator receives statewide honor for public service – Grand Forks Herald | #childsafety | #kids | #chldern | #parents | #schoolsafey

GRAND FORKS — Carma Hanson, the coordinator of Altru’s Safe Kids Grand Forks, has been awarded the 2023 Friend of Medicine Award by the North Dakota Medical Association.

Hanson was nominated by Dr. Joan Connell for her outstanding advocacy for health care and patient services in North Dakota, according to a release from the NDMA.

“She has dedicated her entire life to being passionate about serving the community and advocating for health,” Connell said in a statement. “Since the beginning of her career, she was recognized numerous times for her passion and dedication to helping others.”

Safe Kids Grand Forks promotes child safety through numerous events and trainings in the Grand Forks region, most notably regular car seat checkups, which the organization hosts more than 100 times annually.

Hanson has also spent 12 years advocating for the passage of the primary seat belt law, which passed earlier this year. She was recognized for her efforts by the Vision Zero conference team in May, according to the release.

She began her career in 1989 as a neonatal intensive care unit nurse at Altru, and was recognized as Nurse of the Quarter by Altru’s Professional Nurse Committee. She later served as manager of the NICU and pediatrics unit before transitioning to Safe Kids full-time, the release says.

The Friend of Medicine Award was established in 1999, and each year is given to non-physician citizens who have distinguished themselves by serving as effective advocates for health care, patient services, or the medical profession in North Dakota.

window.fbAsyncInit = function() {

appId : ‘343492237148533’,

xfbml : true,
version : ‘v2.9’

(function(d, s, id){
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;}
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Source link

National Cyber Security