Arabic Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Simplified) Dutch Dutch English English French French German German Italian Italian Portuguese Portuguese Russian Russian Spanish Spanish
| (844) 627-8267
0

Scammers try to scare you into giving away social media sign-in info | #socialmedia | #hacking | #aihp


While scammers would really like to get their hands on your money, they’re also quite happy to get any of your personal information.They can often access that through your social media accounts, and that’s why they try to scare you into giving away your logins and passwords.Here’s how the scam works: You receive an official-looking email from Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or another social media site.The message claims you have violated copyright laws, and your account will be deleted within 24 hours. If you think there was a mistake, all you need to do is click the button and “verify” your account. Then, you are taken to a website that prompts you to input your credentials. Immediately, another message appears to verify your email address. You’ll see a list of email providers. Choose yours, and you’ll be urged to enter your email address and password. How to spot this scamThere are some precautions you should take before you provide any login information.Double check the sender’s email address and link destinations. Hover over any links in an email you receive to see where the link really leads. Make sure the sender’s address is actually from the business it claims to be.Look into the claims. Log into your account to confirm that there really is a case of suspicious activity associated with your account before you decide what to do.Social media accounts are a treasure trove of information for scammers, so make sure you protect your login information.

While scammers would really like to get their hands on your money, they’re also quite happy to get any of your personal information.

They can often access that through your social media accounts, and that’s why they try to scare you into giving away your logins and passwords.

Here’s how the scam works: You receive an official-looking email from Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or another social media site.

The message claims you have violated copyright laws, and your account will be deleted within 24 hours.

If you think there was a mistake, all you need to do is click the button and “verify” your account. Then, you are taken to a website that prompts you to input your credentials.

Immediately, another message appears to verify your email address. You’ll see a list of email providers. Choose yours, and you’ll be urged to enter your email address and password.

How to spot this scam

There are some precautions you should take before you provide any login information.

  • Double check the sender’s email address and link destinations. Hover over any links in an email you receive to see where the link really leads. Make sure the sender’s address is actually from the business it claims to be.
  • Look into the claims. Log into your account to confirm that there really is a case of suspicious activity associated with your account before you decide what to do.

Social media accounts are a treasure trove of information for scammers, so make sure you protect your login information.

Click Here For The Original Source.


————————————————————————————-

National Cyber Security

FREE
VIEW