Stoddard elected as Chairperson of National Council of School Safety Directors | details | #schoolsaftey

Jason Stoddard, Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) director of school safety and security, was recently elected as the inaugural chairperson of the National Council of School Safety Directors (NCSSD). The NCSSD is the first and only organization created to represent, educate and build a national certification and continuing education program for kindergarten through Grade 12 school safety directors.   

The NCSSD is hosting a 3 p.m., April 30, virtual press conference to announce the establishment of the organization. Click here to join. The keynote will be delivered by Texas Congressman Tony Gonzales, a member of the non-partisan School Safety Sub-Committee. Stoddard will provide remarks and lead a panel discussion consisting of members of NCSSD’s founding leadership committee.   

The NCSSD is a new organization launched by the non-profit organization ZeroNow. ZeroNow is a member-based non-profit that facilitates collaboration between industry, associations, and education partners to foster new solutions to keep schools safe and secure.  

Objectives of the NCSSD include: 

  • Developing standards and certification programs for individuals aspiring to be a school safety director.  

  • Creating a network of collaboration where school safety professionals and school systems can learn and share resources, best practice and expertise.  

  • Advocating for federal and state legislation to provide a mandated legal framework to establish a school safety director role in all school systems.  

  • Securing additional funding through a combination of federal and state grants or local taxes to cover the cost of hiring and supporting school safety directors.  

A 2022 report by the Education Commission of the States reported that 32 states have a dedicated school safety entity, and only half require safety training for teachers and staff. School safety directors lead and implement school safety programs, collaborate with local law enforcement, support prevention programs, and oversee security technology, emergency response planning and training.  

The NCSSD supports the role of dedicated school security directors and personnel in school systems to mitigate safety and security risks while securing a safe learning and working environment.  

About CCPS

Charles County Public Schools provides 27,765 students in grades prekindergarten through 12 with an academically challenging education. Located in Southern Maryland, Charles County Public Schools has 38 schools that offer a technologically advanced, progressive and high quality education that builds character, equips for leadership and prepares students for life, careers and higher education.

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (students) or Nikial M. Majors, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator (employees/ adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, MD 20646; 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.

CCPS provides nondiscriminatory equal access to school facilities in accordance with its Use of Facilities rules to designated youth groups (including, but not limited to, the Boy Scouts).

Source link


Click Here For The Original Source.


National Cyber Security