(844) 627-8267 | Info@NationalCyberSecurity
(844) 627-8267 | Info@NationalCyberSecurity

The public safety community shares appreciation for retiring traffic safety advocate | #schoolsaftey

CHEHALIS – The Lewis County Sheriff’s Office stands to benefit from a portion of a $65,000 grant from the Washington State Traffic Safety Commission (WTSC). The funds will be split between law enforcement agencies in Lewis, Cowlitz, and Wahkiakum Counties.

Dianne Swanson announced the financial award at the Lewis County Sheriff’s Office on Wednesday, Sept. 6. For more than five years, Swanson, who retires at the end of the month, has led the three-county WTSC Target Zero Traffic Safety Program aimed at reducing traffic fatalities. In recognition of her efforts and announced retirement, Sheriff’s Office staff and other members of the local public safety community gathered to share their appreciation for her dedicated service on a variety of Lewis County public safety programs.

“My focus has been on traffic accident prevention and education, while aiding local law enforcement efforts,” said Swanson.

With cooperation from Lewis County Sheriff’s deputies, local law enforcement and fire personnel, and other public safety professionals from across the county, Swanson helped spearhead the yearly Safety City for elementary school students and week-long safe driving programs at several local high schools.

“Without her help we wouldn’t have had the additional funding necessary to coordinate community outreach, education, and traffic safety emphasis patrols,” said Lewis County Sheriff’s Sgt. Jeff Godbey, who acts as the Target Zero Law Enforcement Liaison for Lewis County.

“It’s been a great partnership with the Traffic Safety Commission – being able to fund overtime patrols, DUI enforcement, and traffic safety equipment,” Lewis County Sheriff Rob Snaza said. “Dianne has been instrumental in making sure we receive additional funds to support traffic safety emphasis patrols focusing on DUI, seatbelt, speed, and distracted driving.”

Source link


Click Here For The Original Source.

National Cyber Security