(844) 627-8267 | Info@NationalCyberSecurity
(844) 627-8267 | Info@NationalCyberSecurity

Webinar on Engaging patients for medical radiation safety | #schoolsaftey

 13:00-14:00 CEST


Patient and family engagement is a pivotal strategy to advance safety in healthcare. As users of the healthcare system with first-hand experience of the entire patient journey, the perspectives of patients, families and caregivers are invaluable in improving patient safety.

This is especially relevant when it comes to radiation safety of medical exposures where an understanding of benefits and risks is an important aspect. The webinar brings together six non-governmental organizations in official relations with WHO who are committed to empower their membership to strive for radiation safety of patients. Each organization will discuss their strategies for information provision to patients and how they can learn from the experience of patients and families exposed to unsafe care to improve understanding of the nature of harm and foster the development of more effective solutions.

This webinar is co-organized with ICRP, IOMP, ISR, ISRRT, RAD-AID, WFNMB.


  • Welcoming remarks – E. van Deventer (WHO)
  • Introducing this year’s World Patient Safety Day – Irina Papieva (WHO)
  • Patient testimony –Suz Schrandt 
  • Panel session 1:  Information and education provision to patients and families – Co-moderators: Chek Wee Tan (ISRRT) and Mary Wetherall (RAD-AID)
  • Panel session 2: Challenges and opportunities for engaging patients and families – Co-moderators: John Damilakis (IOMP) and Savvas Frangos (WFNMB)
  • Conclusion and way forward 
  • Co-moderators: G. Frija (ISR); K. Applegate (ICRP)
  • Closing remarks – WHO


Please follow the link below to register, upon registration you will receive an email with Webinar connection details. 


Invited panellists

Dr Bibb Allen


Dr Bibb Allen is a general diagnostic radiologist in Birmingham Alabama, USA and the current president of the International Society or Radiology (ISR). He is Past President of the American College of Radiology and currently the Chief Medical Officer of the ACR Data Science Institute where he is working to safe, effective and equitable use of artificial intelligence in healthcare. 

Dr Kimberly Applegate 

Dr Kimberly Applegate is a member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) and also the Main Commission of the International Commission for Radiological Protection (ICRP) as chair of Committee 3, focusing on radiation protection in medicine. She joined, from its start, the Steering Committee for the Image Gently Campaign to improve safe and effective imaging care of children worldwide. 

Dr John Damilakis

Dr John Damilakis is a full professor and director of the Department of Medical Physics, School of Medicine, University of Crete and director of the Department of Medical Physics of the University Hospital of Heraklion, Crete, Greece. He is the President of the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) and a member of the ICRP Committee 3. 

Dr Savvas Frango

Dr Savvas Frangos is a Nuclear Medicine Specialist at the Bank of Cyprus Oncology Center running the Thyroid Cancer clinic. He is a Fellow of the European Board of Nuclear Medicine, President of the Cyprus Society of Nuclear Medicine and President Elect of the World Federation of Nuclear Medicine and Biology.

Dr Guy Frija

Dr Guy Frija is a radiologist in Paris France; he is currently co-chair of the International Society of Radiology quality and safety alliance and past chair of Eurosafe Imaging. He is Honorary Professor at Université Paris Cité.

Dr Donald Frush

Dr Donald Frush is a paediatric radiologist at Duke University Medical Center. He is the chair of the Image Gently Alliance and co-chairs the ISR Quality and Safety Alliance.

Dr Geraldine McGinty

Dr Geraldine McGinty holds faculty appointments in Radiology and Population Health Sciences at Weill Cornell Medicine in New York City. She is the Chair of the International Society of Radiology’s Commission on Radiology Education.

Ms Suz Schrandt 

Ms Suz Schrandt is Founder and CEO of ExPPect and previously held roles in engagement leadership at PCORI and the Arthritis Foundation.  She served on a radiation safety measure TEP, as Senior Patient Engagement Advisor to the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine, and is a Patients for Patient Safety US Champion.

Ms Chek Wee Tan

Ms Chek Wee Tan is currently working as the Senior Principal Radiation Therapist at the National University Cancer Institute, Singapore and has joint appointment with the Singapore Institute of Technology as Senior Lecturer for Radiotherapy Programme. She was recently elected as the ISRRT Vice-president for the Asia/Australasia region.

Dr Jean-Pierre Tasu

Dr Jean-Pierre Tasu, MD, PhD, is an Executive Committee member of ISR and Vice president of the French Society of Radiology, Member of the CIRE board (committee on international radiology education) of the RSNA (Radiology Society of North America), ESGAR (European Society of Gastrointestinal and Abdominal Radiology) ambassador for France, and a diagnostic and interventional abdominal radiologist, University hospital of Poitiers and University of Brest, France.

Ms Mary Wetherall

Ms Mary Wetherall has served as administrator and consultant for health care safety net programs for over 15 years. Her focus is on supporting and expanding the capacity of local care providers both globally and domestically through workflow analysis, quality improvement, care coordination, education, advocacy, and patient navigation training. 


Source link


Click Here For The Original Source.

National Cyber Security