Earlier we reported how the move opens doors for businesses to contact you via the app, but there’s a few other changes too.
WhatsApp will now share your phone number with Facebook.
The people at WhatsApp were quick to point out that your encrypted messages will stay private, meaning you’re the only person that can read them.
But by sharing your data with the social media site, it will slightly change your Facebook experience.
You’re likely to see more people you recognise or have some form of communication with in the ‘People You May Know’ section.
And the ads are more likely to be from firms you already have an account with, rather than a company you’ve never heard of.
A statement from WhatsApp explains: ‘We plan to share some information with Facebook and the Facebook family of companies that will allow us to coordinate more, such as to fight spam and abuse, and improve experiences across our services and those of Facebook and the Facebook family.’
Adding: ‘Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of the Facebook family of apps for others to see.
‘This means, for example, although some information will be shared with Facebook (such as your phone number), that information will not be seen by other people on Facebook.
‘In addition, when you and your contacts use the latest version of our app, your messages are end-to-end encrypted by default. When your messages are end-to-end encrypted, only the people you are messaging with can read them – not WhatsApp, Facebook, or anyone else.’